Posted by: drizl | October 8, 2009

Nervous Twitches

So, tomorrow is the day for me.  I will be attending my first writer’s conference.  Thank gawd it’s a small one and in my hometown.  I have no idea what to expect, I don’t know what to bring and I can’t remember anyone’s name.  I’m doomed!  The name thing is the worst.  And believe me I have tried everything from repeating their name in the conversation which I think is totally lame and makes me feel more uncomfortable.  I have tried saying the name in my head like sixty times. I ‘ve tried picking out certain features and doing word association with the name, but nothing seems to work.  Maybe I’m lucky I can remember my own name! Maybe I should tell people right up front “Hey, I’ll never remember your name but it was nice to meet you anyway.”  Maybe we’ll have to wear goofy name tags and I can spend my time sneaking peeks at the name tags.  Like anyone wouldn’t notice that! Unless I can wear sunglasses…Maybe I’ll just sneak out and go to the hockey game, because I do have a ticket and it’s the start of the regular season and the Fighting Sioux are raising the league championship banner and…wait aren’t I supposed to be at a writer’s conference? What was your name again?

…basically I think I’m just screwed…so I’ll probably end up trying to blend into the wall or sitting in the back of the room wondering what the #@*& I’m doing here, because really I’d rather be at home writing not trying to remember someone’s name!

Shhh…Don’t tell anyone but I am going to the hockey game…

Leave a Reply

Categories

