Posted by: drizl | October 18, 2009

A Fork in the Publishing Road

I think I’m at a fork in the road or maybe I’m just totally on the wrong fricking road or maybe I’m standing in the middle of the field stuck in the middle of nowhere.  I’m frustrated and discouraged with everything, not just the writing, but the query process, the publishing business and maybe I should throw in that I’m frustrated with my life too.  Make it really complicated. I feel like I’m stuck in a box and I don’t know how to claw my way out. I reworked, rewrote and re-edited my novel and now I’m freaked about sending out more queries to agents.  That opens up the question of do I really need an agent? That whole process of finding an agent is weird and uncomfortable and it still doesn’t guarentee the book is going to be published. 

Maybe I should just put the book on this blog one chapter at a time, but who am I kidding, I don’t know how to increase my following and the story would probably just sit out in cyberspace collecting cyberdust. 

I think this is where I should get up off my ass and figure out a way to get an attitude adjustment. I’m pretty sure whining isn’t going to solve any of my problems.  I know I have a good story. It’s just finding someone in the publishing world who agrees with me.  And if that freaking road doesn’t work, there’s always self publishing.

Responses

  1. I’m not very good at playing the waiting game ~ good luck with your editor ~ don’t overwork your story

  2. I think this is a common problem. I’m still waiting for an editor’s report and I have a feeling the editor will want me to revise sections of the novel, and that’s pretty annoying since I’ve already worked on it in depth. I think the self-publishing option is worth bearing in mind, particularly with the countless online opportunities, but it needs a great deal of planning beforehand. If you do decide to self-publish, spend a good six months or so doing careful planning.

    Good luck whatever you decide.


Leave a Reply

Categories

