Posted by: drizl | October 23, 2009

NaNoWriMo 50,000 words of INsanity

I may have just lost my freaking mind. I signed up for the National Novel Writing Month which means I have to bang out at least 50,000 words in the month of November. I may have to sleep with my laptop. This is my first time trying this so it should prove to be an adventure or it may drive me over the edge. Total insanity or fun? I’ll let you know on November 30.

The reason I signed up is I have been editing so much lately I haven’t written anything new. It’s really boring to just do rewrites so I’m actually looking forward to creating something new. When I signed up it asked me all sorts of questions from the novel title to providing a short synopsis for the book. I have nothing because I’m not going to think about it until November first.  The only thing I know is that I’m going to join the millions of other people and write about vampires. I know I know…it’s all been done. But I’m gonna give it a shot plus I can totally annoy a friend of mine who really dislikes vampires. I think I will make him read the story when it’s complete.

So, if you’re a writer, a wanna-be writer or a glutton for punishment and haven’t signed up yet  www.nanowrimo.org

Responses

  1. Good luck with NaNoWriMo!
    If this was around back when I was a bachelor, I would’ve been all over this. Now that I’m married with children (and another on the way), taking that much time out is impossible. I wish you all the best.

    • Thanks!
      Sign up anyway. Don’t think I’m going to write the next best seller by using this format but it may get me started on a good storyline. I think it’s just an exercise to get everyone writing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

