Posted by: drizl | November 18, 2009

NaNo on Overload

On my NaNo regional site there is a graph that has people’s word count. One person has already reached the 50,000 word count. Holy crow, but as of yesterday I was in second place. Today I find myself in third and my crazy competitive hormones are on overload. (so WTF am I doing wasting words on this blog) Anyway, I need to get my second place back so I’m going to spend the day writing my ass add off. Maybe I’ll go completely nuts and finish the 50,000. Right, don’t know if I could write 10,000 words in an afternoon and have any of them make any sense, but I will give a concerted effort.

Anybody else freaking on NaNo? This is my first year doing this thing and it’s about driven me nuts. It has made me sit down and write but it’s also made me crazy about the word count. I never really looked at it before. Okay, that’s not entirely true because as I’ve started to pitch my novel word count has become really important. Some publishers actually have a range the book has to fall in before they will consider it. Right now the book I’m pitching is around 87,000 words and one publisher won’t look at it unless it’s 90,000.  I just don’t know if I could add another 3000 words.  I  mean really, how many reallys and justs can one add before the sentence structure just freaking collapses. Hahahaha.

Enough already. I’ve used up 250 words on this post that could have gone into my NaNo story.

Leave a Reply

Categories

