Posted by: drizl | December 1, 2009

Save the Query for January?

Ah December.  NaNo is complete so now what? Besides the editing and finishing the story I mean.

I’ve been posing the question of whether or not to query  in the month of December. Should I wait until January to start that whole process again or jump right in? I have a friend who has been waiting for a few weeks and has heard absolutely nothing from any of the agents she qeueried. Does that mean the holiday season should be a time to tweak our queries for a big push in Janaury? It would give me an entire month to get into my suit of armour for the avalanche of no’s to hit. Okay, so I’m hoping there will be a yes buried in the pile somewhere. Does anyone in cyber space have any thoughts on this matter or am I left here to make the decision all by my lonesome. Helllloooooo? 

I seriously have been wondering what is the best time to query. One friend did some research and I think she told me the best day is Tuesday or Wednesday to send an e-query. Is there a f*cking magic formula for sending and writing a query because if there is I’d like to know. I need some good mojo if I’m going to start this process again.

Responses

  1. Congrats on finishing Nano. As for the best time to query? Here’s a great post from super agent Mary Kole on this very subject:

    http://kidlit.com/2009/11/25/what-time-of-year-do-i-query/

    Best of luck!

    • Thanks for the link! Great Advice!


Leave a Reply

Categories

