Posted by: drizl | December 2, 2009

Hey, where did 2009 go?

Can someone please tell me where 2009 went? I swear it just started. I guess if I think real hard and take a look back at the past year I can see things have changed for me just not as drastically as I would like. The writing started in March which is a good thing, great thing, f*cking awesome thing. It’s become part of my everyday existence. I have three completed books, two are part of a series, another manuscript in the works all thanks to NaNoWriMo, several small outlines for new stories and the beginning of the third book in the affore mentioned series. That’s a hell of a lot of writing and editing. Oh and don’t forget the query letters, the synopsis, the emailing and waiting only to recieve the NO but a lot of the No’s were personal saying you show promise which has to mean keep going…Right??

I have also set aside time to read. And by reading I mean books not just blogs about Robert Pattinson although I still do that. (smiles slyly)  Music has always been important in my life, but it’s back to front and center because it helps me write by shutting out real life. Blah. I have my Ipod plugged in right now. David Gray is serenading me with Babylon.

So with 2010 upon us I’ve been wondering if I should set some new goals. I don’t really believe in New Year’s Resolutions.  You have to want to change your life. Just because the calendar says it’s a new year doesn’t mean you are ready to take the steps necessary to change your life. For me it was February when a friend handed me Twilight. I don’t know why. It just is. The writing came next. Maybe this year the agent and book deal will come. One can only hope and continue to dream. And write always write. There are a thousand more freaking stories in my head dying to come out.

Maybe if I get them out of my head I can remember where I put my shoes.

Leave a Reply

Categories

