Posted by: drizl | December 6, 2009

Do You Really Need All These Commas?

I haven’t posted for the last few days because I haven’t been able to sit down and write. Too many things going on in real life and it’s making me totally crabby!  I need to write. Writing even the silliest things helps stablize me.  Without it I’m punchy and sharp toward people, not a good thing especially around the holidays. Which I would like to be over, but that’s another issue entirely.

Next week I meet with my writer’s group again.  Looking forward to an afternoon of talking writing. Maybe not so much the critcism and opinions but I’m learning to respect other people’s opinions even if I don’t agree with them. I’m a good cheek biter. It’s sort of silly but maybe every once in awhile it would be good to hear hey, I really like your stuff. Instead of why did you write this, it should look like this. You sentence structure is off. You don’t use enough comma’s. Comma’s are overated and over-used. I write more like a journalist. Besides a comma is not going to make or break a story for cryin’ out loud. Tell me if you like my story. I can always go back and add the stinking commas. It’s the storyline that’s important. Does it flow? Do you feel the characters? My high school English teacher would probably cringe if she read this post. She was a stickler for rigid writing style. 

I must close this post because real life is demanding I turn off my computer.

Leave a Reply

Categories

