Posted by: drizl | December 10, 2009

The Epiphany Post

December ninth two thousand and nine around nine in the morning. (Yes I know today is the 10th, but this happened after yesterday’s post) An epiphany brought me to my knees. I had an Oh My Gawd moment. It was a realization of why I write, what I want to create. Writing is creating a world and characters so engaging that the reader does not want to return to Real Life. The sort of stories that make it almost impossible to set the book down. A story that keeps the reader up until the last page is turned, the final scene completed and after the book is finished the reader is still thinking about it , wanting to talk to someone about this great book. Seems like such an easy thing to understand but when it hit me, it changed me. A new vigor to write better, create amazing stories and make the ones in existence more appealing. To make the reader fall in love with the characters or hate them, either is fine becuase any emotion illicited is wonderful.

I have been reading a lot of books lately, in a lot of different genres. I tried to tune in to why I liked certain books and why I wanted to leave some on the table by my bed unfinished. I guess this led to to my Epiphany. I started to think about the stories and characters who I really like, the ones that make me go back and read the book again, like the Harry Potter series and the character of Edward Cullen from the Twilight series. (Sidebar: Yes I do like the movies, but I like the books better) These stories mix wonderful characters with good solid stories. I just finished reading the City of Bones by Cassandra Clare (see Drizl’s What I’m reading Blog for a more in depth view of the book) This was one of those stories that I didn’t want to set down. I needed to know what happened. I’m just grateful that the series is complete and I can move on to the next book without having to wait for it to be written.

As I move forward after my Epiphany I can only hope that I will be able to take my own advice and improve my stories…and get them published…hahahaha

Leave a Reply

Categories

