Posted by: drizl | December 14, 2009

Back to the Drawing er Writing Board

I started going through my time jumper book editing and adding commas when, in the middle of the night, I decided I was going to have to do some major revisions in the writing. I need to enhance the characters more, especially since it’s written in first person. I don’t know why I thought it would be easy to write in first person. It’s not easy, because I’m not her or any of the other characters, but I need to be. As I was reading the story yesterday I didn’t feel the connection to the characters and if I can’t, how is the reader going to find a connection. I want them to have a favorite character, to be able to identify with one or more of them. I want them to get to know the characters as the story develops, find out what makes them tick and why they choose the path they are on.  I want the reader to cry with them, be frightened for them or get mad at them when they do something stupid. I have a feeling this is what every writer wants to do for their audience.  Sigh. It sounds easy to do when writing it out in this blog, but obviously, it’s not. I think it’s one of the greatest challenge a writer faces when creating a story. How to draw the reader in to the lives of the characters. Already my head hurts thinking about all this. It must be related to my Epiphany. I just wish real life wouldn’t bother me so much. Sometimes I would like to be able to hide inside my laptop and write, uninterrupted by mundane daily life tasks. I think I need a vacation. As long as I’m dreaming, make the vacation somewhere warm and sunny and beachy…okay, okay, I want to go to the beach, but that ain’t gonna happen right now. Ah, but my character goes the beach, so maybe I’ll spend the day with her at the beach.  See ya later, I need to go find my sunscreen.

Leave a Reply

Categories

