Posted by: drizl | December 29, 2009

If you don’t query…Does the work really exist?

Good Grief ! It’s almost 2010! My last few posts have been about my adventures with fan fiction. Today it’s time to get back to thinking about my own work. I don’t seem very excited do I? Maybe it’s because one of my good friends, who conincidentally is also trying to land an agent/book deal, just emailed me her list of agents who have rejected her story. I hate that f*cking word…Rejection. Bitter writer girl is showing her face.

Anyway, looking over her rejection list got my wondering if I’m up for all this drama again. Shizz. Write the query, rewrite the query, rewrite the query again, do a synopsis. I hate those…And then this happens, and this, and this…blah, blah, blah…read the first five pages, rewrite them again and again and again in desperate hopes of finding the words that will draw the reader in and HOOK them. Do you ever feel like you’ve used up all your words. I need to invest in a dictionary to expand my vocab. A real one and an urban one. I can’t keep up with all the slang these days.

Once I’ve polished my query, synopsis and whatever else I need to do, here it comes, I’m going to have to break out my rejection list. I need to see who I’ve queried and who I haven’t. I’m going to have to go down the path of NO again. If you don’t query it…does it really exist? Okay so I’m not satisifed just sitting on my laurels of a completed manuscript. I want it to be a real book, on someone’s book shelf, sitting on a nightstand, in a backpack, checked out from a library. I feel a swoon coming on….

Shizz, I’m going back to fanfiction. At least people are reading my stuff.  For real

Warning these links contain lemons…not for the faint of heart…Oh, and if you’re under 18 you’re not supposed to read them either…

http://fanfiction.net/s/5613548/1/Hearts_Desire

http://fanfiction.net/s/5611369/1/I_Remember_You

The first link is based on the story The Mortal Instruments City of Ashes  The second link is based on Twilight.

Responses

  1. Sometimes it’s really that simple, isn’t it? I feel a little stupid for not thinking of this myself/earlier, though.

  2. Damn, that sound’s so easy if you think about it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

