Posted by: drizl | January 10, 2010

Hook ‘Em : The First Five Pages

I have spent the weekend in the fanfiction cave again. Shame on me. If anyone is following my little lemons here’s the link to the new chapter of Game on Baby Remember this is a story for the over eighteens and the non prudes ~ don’t say I didn’t warn you!

 http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5626218/4/Game_On_Baby

Awhile ago I wrote a blog about agents requesting the first five pages. I still hate the concept of giving up on a story after the first five pages, but it’s a game you have to play to get into the world of writing. So with a lot of grumbling I have reworked, rewrititten, rethought and redone my first five pages. I hope I got it right this time.

Today I have to decide if I’m going to enter the Hook ’em writing contest that is being presented by the Dallas Fort Worth Writer’s Conference I’m attending in April.  The contest is…you guessed it, the first five pages of your book. As if. The prize is a ten minute appointment with an agent. Instead of the first five pages, here’s the first paragraph of my Jump Through Time story.  

I can’t seem to sleep anymore.  Gawd, I’m so tired.  For the last few nights I’ve been having strange, incomplete disjointed dreams that make it seem like I haven’t been asleep at all.  I feel like I’m fighting a force that I can’t break past.  It sits on me, almost suffocating me, like I’m stuck in a box trying to claw my way out.  

Ta Da, I don’t think I’ve ever posted any actual writing from the book. And now back to the fanfiction cave.

Leave a Reply

Categories

