Posted by: drizl | January 22, 2010

Grrrr…Querys Suck

What is there to write about today? More ramblings and whinings about the query? Yesterday I said I had a viable query almost ready to send out. Today I hate it. Grrrr. OMG, I hate doing creative things. I should have stuck with accounting. There was a right way and a wrong way. There was no room for creative license unless you wanted to get in trouble with the IRS. There were firm and hard rules. In writing, all the rules are blown to bits. Unless you count the rules of punctuation, spelling and other grammar related rules. Of course, I have been known to blow those rules up too. I think we are all guilty of using terrible sentence structure. I do not use enough commas. Grrr.

I’ve been reading some blogs about what’s trending in the world of books and right now it all comes down to Honey, you are so screwed. The subject and creatures you choose to write about are not trending. Well f*ck me sideways. I thought I was supposed to write what I liked and if the story is good…Grrr.

I guess that is why I’ve been dabbling in fanfiction. I can write what I like and it gets posted regardless of what anyone else says. Yesterday, I cleared out my email and let me tell you…it was hard to erase the over three hundred emails I received from the fanfic site. They were review alerts, to favorite author, to favorite story, etc…but I deleted them all. I still have access to all that stuff on fanfiction, but it was fun to have them all in my email. When I first started fanfiction I had no idea what I was getting into. I just wanted to see if I could attract some readers. And I did. One story has over 2100 hits. The one shot almost 1400 and the angsty story has almost 1000. Maybe the numbers aren’t that fabulous but to go from having a few friends read your stuff to over 2000 people read it. That’s an enormous leap. All this leads back to the fact that I have a completed story, a half ass query and a lack of confidence issue. Just finish the query and start sending it out again. No regrets…that’s what she said. Grrrr.

Leave a Reply

Categories

