Posted by: drizl | February 1, 2010

Feed Your Ego…Write FanFiction

Sweet glorious fanfiction. Nothing like it. It’s like a drug for your ego. I added a new story in The Mortal Instruments ategory and the hits went over 160. Yesterday I popped up a new chapter for Game On Baby and the hits went over 500 again. And I put the chapter up late in the afternoon. We shall see how many hits it gets today. I would like to be able to post on Fridays but I post when the words and chapters come out. I’m going to write some more today on the fanfiction stuff. Not many reviews yet, but I am guilty of doing that as well. I have not reveiwed any of the stories I regularly read and I know I should do it. I obviously like the reviews so I’m sure other authors do as well. I’m going to add that to my list of things to do…if I read a fanfic and I like the story, I’m going to review. Feed the writers’ egos. It’s a good thing.

I really do need to get back to my original works. I need to send a few more querys out this week. (even though I don’t want to) I still have three out in the world that have not been answered yet. Not that that means anything, because sometimes agents choose to ignore you. Yeah, I’ve heard it all…they get tons of querys blah, blah, blah. It’s there freaking job and sending an email takes like three seconds. As much as I hate form letters, at least you know.

I had my writers group meeting this weekend and we talked about self publishing. I would really like to talk to someone who has had a good experience with self publication. I know I’ve only been to one writer’s conference, but when the topic of self publishing was brought up all the editors and agents pretty much thumbed their noses at it. I don’t get that. Obviously with all this technology available to the masses, people are going to self publish, especially if they know they have a decent product. I think that’s why I’m doing fanfiction. If the writing and the stories are good, people are going to find them. I’ve blogged about this before. I’m testing the waters to see if I’m good and so far I’m happy with the results. People are reading my stuff. That’s more than I can say for the f*cking agents. Maybe that’s harsh but dammit, I’m frustrated and no one is helping point me in the right direction. Crabby writer girl speaks.

And I’m off to the fanfiction writing cave! And remember my fanfiction cave is rated M for nasty language and naughty lemons. Here’s the link to Chapter Six of Game On Baby!

http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5626218/6/Game_On_Baby

Leave a Reply

Categories

