Posted by: drizl | February 10, 2010

Handing my Book over to a Kid

The roller coaster of being a writer is in full gear. I don’t feel quite as angsty today, so I haven’t erased the computer, burned the hard copies or put the stories in a drawer. On the contrary, I talked to a sixteen year old reader and she is going to read my Drizzle story. I’m wading into the target market to find out what they want. Maybe the publishers, editors and agents are out of touch. I’m going straight to the source. I’m going to ask the question about character age too. Do they want to read about kids in college. I don’t give a f*ck what the higher-ups say about age. You are still a freaking kid when you’re in college, you just have more freedoms. So, I want to know what they want to read, who they want to read about and how far they want an author to push the story. I’ve decided I need to get more of a sense of who I’m writing these stories for. This will be the first time someone in the target has read anything I’ve written. Should be interesting and scary.  

I’ve only queryed this book three times. I received personal rejections for the query. Yay, personal rejection. I really don’t care if it’s a personal rejection. They feel the exact same as a form rejection. It’s still no. Maybe it’s a nice no, but so far none have offered any sort of helpful insight as to what I can do to make things better.

I know Agents are busy. We’re all busy…but think of how long it took me to write the book, write the query, the synopsis…give me something here…Pfftt…(Grins wickedly)

Leave a Reply

Categories

