Posted by: drizl | February 23, 2010

Writer’s Block? Nah, it’s Imagination Block!

Day ? I don’t even know how many days it’s been since I’ve written something new? I haven’t written any fanfic, no working on my original stories, I haven’t even banged out a short scene. Jeez, what’s wrong with me? And don’t tell me it’s writer’s block because I seem to be able to write, I just don’t have any good story ideas. A-ha it’s story block, no imagination block. How do you get out of imagination block? It sounds worse than writer’s block. Crap!

For the past week I’ve just been staring at my computer. I reread the stories I’ve written and I do not get inspired. That’s freaking scary. I don’t even like the stories I’ve written. They sound stupid and then my brain tells me things like, well, see, this is why no agents are signing you. The stories are stupid. That’s bad when you think your own writing sucks. Who stole my mojo? I want it back!

Maybe these doldrums I’m suffering through have something to do with the weather. I’m sick of winter. When I went to Florida it was cold. I needed to feel the heat of spring or summer, not 50 degrees and so freaking windy it felt like home. I wore a wool coat on the beach. That doesn’t seem right, but I was there and I wasn’t going to NOT go on the beach.

So, what do I do to get my Imagination back on track? Is there a magic formula for me? Do I just keep writing and hope that all of a sudden something great jumps into my head and frees my imagination. It’s always something isn’t it? I’m not trying to use this as an excuse but dammit, it sorta sucks. I’m not giving up. Today I will try again and hopefully, I’ll be able to break out of these emo feelings and write something good.

Leave a Reply

Categories

