Posted by: drizl | February 27, 2010

One Year Anniversary of Writing…

I was looking back through my written journal and I realized that it’s been exactly one year since all this stuff started. I read the Twilight books. The movie mysteriously reappeared in the theater and I was a goner. I literally freaked out because I decided that my life sucked. I couldn’t really figure out how I had come to this point. I didn’t know myself anymore. I felt like mist, like I was just existing not really living. It made me physically sick, so I decided to do something about it. I started exercising and I started writing.  Writing was something I’d always had in the back of my mind. I knew I had a good imagination. Stories were always brewing in my mind. I never did anything about them. Occassionally, I would scribble some ideas down but that was as far as I went. I still have the folder full of story ideas and sometimes I sneak a peek at them.

Today I have three completed books and two more in the works. Only problem is I haven’t hooked up with an agent yet. It’s been a year of ups and downs. I’ve received some encouraging feedback from agents but have not gotten a full reading yet. I’m still trying to figure out how to play the game. No one really tells you the rules of this strange agent game. It’s been a learning experience and hopefully, one day, I will get that call saying they would like to sign me. See trying to stay positive, even though a lot of times I’d like to hide in a cave and cry for days.

To offset the misery of being rejected by agents I started writing fanfiction. It’s been amazing and an ego boost for me. You get immediate feedback for the stories. I am still fascinated that people are able to find my stories and honored that they take the time to read them and some even review them. One story has over 6,000 hits since I put it up on 12/30/09. 

So we are entering year two. I’m still hoping to hook up with an agent, but no matter what, I’m going to keep writing. I don’t think I could stop. Even though there are some down days where I feel that everything I write totally sucks, I’ll keep moving forward. I’ll keep trying to find the right combination of words to entice an agent and someday I hope to be holding a published book with my name on the cover. Ooooh, just thinking about it gets my heart pounding. I think that’s a good sign.

Responses

  1. Happy Anniversary. I know I enjoy your writing, once it’s out there on the shelves I know others will too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

