Posted by: drizl | March 1, 2010

Ten Minute Pitch from HELL

Argh! This ten minute pitch is already driving me nuts! The conference I’ll be attending isn’t until April but I hope starting this early will help me be so prepared I just can’t screw it up or worse, barf on the agent’s shoes. That may have a negatvie effect on my writing career. With the help of my writing buddy I know I’ll have this thing nailed down by the time I sit down face to face with the scary agent. Gah, even thinking about it freaks me out.

I’m also supposed to have a one sentence description of my book so that if someone asks me about it when we are socializing I can just spit it out. I’ll be the one by the wall talking to a plant. I wonder if the plant will be impressed with the premise of my book.

I have to get over feeling like an idiot when talking about my writing. I don’t know why it freaks me out so much. People ask me what I do and right now my standard answer is…nothing. I know I should start telling people that I’m trying to be a writer. Well, I am a writer I’m just hoping one day to earn a living from it. Everyone I’ve ever told has thought it was cool. Of course then the questions start…are you published? When will you be published? As if I have any control over that. I do not own a publishing company. Maybe I should start my own publishing company. I wonder how that works? Quick someone draw up a business plan & we’ll start pushing books out. Mine is first!

Leave a Reply

Categories

