Posted by: drizl | March 2, 2010

The Voices are BACK

The voices are back. Thank f*cking God. I was starting to worry, but late last night in between puking fits (thank you very much stomach bug) the voices came back with a venegance. If I wouldn’t have been so dang dizzy, I would have been writing. Voices from four seperate stories were bothering me last night. It was good to hear them again. Today I’ve been lounging around and just enjoying listening to my characters tell me where to go with their stories. 

I’m also having conversations about my jumper story. I’m stuck at the moment. Torn on how to handle my writing. For the last few months I’ve been listening to people in the industry telling me about how to hook ’em with the first five pages. I’ve rewritten so many times it’s getting to the point I can’t remember what is happening in the story.

And then it bonked me on the head…if I don’t absolutely love it who will…this is my story…I’m the one in charge and if I don’t like how it’s laid out how can I be a good promoter. Now I’m starting to wonder if I should do another rewrite, but this time I’m doing what I want. This past year has been all about not accepting the norm, not fitting in to the mold people expect you to jam yourself into and here I am doing that with my stories. I want to write what I like, how I like and I don’t want anyone telling me this is how everyone else is doing it. I’ve spent the last year trying to find me and I’m not going to loose myself again. Maybe I’m fucking nuts, but I have to be happy with what I write or else it just isn’t going to work. 

I know you can’t please everyone, but hell, if you can’t please yourself than you’re screwed. I have to make me happy first, before I can make my readers happy. OMFG I think I’m having another Epiphany. I’ve been so caught up in trying to get an agent to like my stuff that I don’t know if I like it anymore.

Responses

  1. Maybe that’t why I like your first version of the Jumper series. It was your original idea, you were true to you first thougths and it showed. You were truely committed. The rewrite …. it hasn’t hooked me the same way. I told you it was way better than that vamp stuff.


Leave a Reply

Categories

