Posted by: drizl | April 8, 2010

Is Anyone Interested in My Writing?

Howdy Ya’ll…I’m in Texas for the writer’s conference. I may be sick. No, really, healthwise I’m fine, head wise not so much. Shit. Emotions are bouncing all over the place from are you nuts to I can do this! I want this and I rock. I think I have rocks in my head. I still have no idea what I’m going to say at the 10 minute pitch. I twittered an agent on #yalitchat the other evening about what she wanted to hear at a ten minute pitch. She said she wanted to see a query and a writing sample. It was the agent’s job to do the pitching and the writer’s job to write. Sweet, thanks for the advice. I wonder what the agent would say if I repeated that at my ten minute pitch. Sigh. Everyone wants something different. Do it this way, no this is the way, hey don’t do that..it’s absolutely crazy! It’s turned into a crap shoot, cuz I can’t figure out what they want.

Once again I find myself back at please, just read the story. Don’t judge me on my query and a few paragraphs. Read the story and tell me if I’m worth it. Kinda whining here. I know that’s not helpful to anyone, but it’s really hard to keep it at bay sometimes. I do want to keep track of all these interesting encounters because I swear I’m going to write a book about the rocky weird road to becoming a published author. Everyone has a different experience, but I started out knowing nothing. I still don’t know much, but I hope I’m going in the right direction. No one ever tells you and really it’s only that person’s opinion.

So anyway, I’m here…in Dallas…in a hotel room…waiting…waiting to find out if anyone is interested in my writing

Leave a Reply

Categories

