Posted by: drizl | April 12, 2010

Entering the Lion’s Den as Bait

For some unexplained reason I feel unexplicably calm. Wait until tomorrow when I enter the lions den posing as bait. F*ck! Wanna-be writers, agents, authors are all arriving for the DFW conference which begins tomorrow.  I’ve been spending the day reading, playing on my computer and fiddling with my pitch. I still don’t know what I’m going to do or say. Not good, but I haven’t done this before and I’ve read so many different suggestions my head feels like it’s going to explode. I’m getting to the point where I’m just gonna wing it.

So, that first paragraph was obviously written before the writers’ conference started. It was an emotionally, mentally and physically draining weekend, but it was all worth it.  The pitch wasn’t what I expected. It was more of a conversation, but I lived through it and the agent requested samples of my work. I may be reading into things that weren’t there but she seemed genuinely interested in the story. I only hope I can win her over with the sample. It’s a chance and truthfully, it’s more than I expected to get. I’m trying to keep my emotions in check because I don’t want to get too excited about it. I have a bit of polishing to do on the writing and then it’s into the cave to write a wam bam two page synopsis. I actually think I’m ready to start pitching this story again. I’m also ready to do a rewrite on the Drizl story and pitch that one too. I also started a new story, but I think I’m going to try and write a really loose outline for that story. Try something new and see if I like that particular formula. 

The classes I chose to attend were spectacular! The information I took from them is going to be invaluable as I continue on with this weird journey into the world of agents and publishing. I guess the most important thing  I pulled out of this conference was that writing. Without the writing there is nothing. I’m beginning to believe without the writing there isn’t a me.

Today is going to be spent on my laptop banging out words, a bit of editing and some reflecting over the past weekend.  Je ne regrette rien!

I’m living it and I regret nothing!

Responses

  1. Oh yeah, and I loovvvveee your header image. Very creative and awesome 🙂

  2. Good for you spending your time writing. That was definitely my goal for tonight, but so far…well… Anyways, good luck on your story!


Leave a Reply

Categories

