Posted by: drizl | April 26, 2010

StopWatch Writing

Bad News people the stopwatch shows no mercy and does not lie. So, I started with a small experiment yesterday. I sat down at the computer, brought up the story I’m currently working on and hit the start button on the watch.  I sat at the computer for one hour and a half. Remember, you have to STOP the clock when you click away from your story. Out of that time I only worked on the story for Nineteen, yeah 19 minutes.  The rest of the time I was screwing around on twitter, my email and just looking at pointless shizz on the internet. What a waste of time. Later today I’m going to do the same exercise only I’m going to try and make a conscious effort to stay focused on my writing. I think all writers need to try to stopwatch exercise. I’m sure there will be a few of you who are animals when it comes to writing but I’m willing to bet most of you are like me and let your minds and your body wander way too much. 

So the StopWatch shizz got me thinking about time. The ever present, always moving forward, trying to run me over… passage of time. I thought or at least I’d f*cking hoped that things would have moved forward with this writing shizz. I know, I haven’t stopped trying and I haven’t stopped writing…I guess I’m just frustrated. Just like millions of other writers who are in the same boat as me. The stupid boat is gonna sink and I’m scared to get out of the boat cuz I don’t know what’s in the water. What the hell does that mean? I actually don’t think I’m in the boat anymore. I’m really floating around somewhere in the middle of the ocean waiting for someone to pick me up. Ack, I’m getting all Emo and spewing philosophical jizz everywhere. I don’t like being in the water so I’m gonna cheat and wait on land. If ya want me I’ll be hanging out in my fanfiction lounge. It’s a pretty cool place . People read my stuff and send me comments. Last Friday I posted a chapter to Game On Baby and the hits for the day were 2.13k. Yep a lot of people stopped by my fanfic lounge and I wasn’t even running a drink special.

Well, I hear Real Life (RL) calling. I have a few things to do before I can put on my StopWatch and write…The clock is ticking…GET TO WORK…Laters…

Responses

  1. Wow- It’s awesome that your fanfic lounge got so many hits! I really went out and bought a stop watch, but I have yet to really use it like I should. I have an aversion to watches anyways…


Leave a Reply

Categories

