Posted by: drizl | May 17, 2010

POVs ~ First or Third?

POVs or point of view…I started writing a new story in my normal first person POV when I decided to change it up and write in 3rd person. Hmmm, let me tell you it’s a pain in the add, but I need to learn how to be more descriptive and I think it’s easier to write like that in 3rd person. Maybe it’s because I personally am not that detailed of a person when it comes to observing the world around me. I can’t remember people’s names or what they look like…if I don’t give a shit about you I’m not gonna remember you. Kinda harsh but it’s the truth. I’ve tried all those silly exercises like repeating the person’s name or looking directly at them or blah, blah, blah…don’t really care…I can fake it though, just don’t ask me to repeat your name. *rolls eyes*

So what does this have to do with writing a story…well, sometimes when I write in 1st person it’s not very descriptive writing. I do believe there is a fine line between too much description with not enough. I just haven’t found the happy medium yet. I wanna like the character…I could care less what color their couch is or how many flowers are in their garden and what color they are. Sometimes I think I should try my hand at writing screen plays. If it’s a movie I can just show you what’s in my head rather than trying to think of clever ways to tell you. I mean sometimes a kiss is just a kiss and a rose is just that, a pretty flower.

Anyway, I’m in the middle of rewriting this new story in 3rd POV and so far it’s going okay.

Responses

  1. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

  2. Seriously I have such a hard time writing in 1st person. I love 3rd, but most people are the opposite.

    And you’re so right about too much description vs too little. There’s a very subtle difference when you’re writing, but to the reader it’s much more obvious (unfortunately) lol.

    Also, thought of you when I read this post: http://stiryourtea.blogspot.com/2010/05/breaking-dawn-wedding-night_18.html


Leave a Reply

Categories

