Posted by: drizl | August 8, 2010

Putting a Story To Bed

Man, I’ve neglected this blog lately, but I have a good reason…er, I’ve been finishing up both of my fanfics and starting another one. It’s sad letting go of a story that’s been a kick to write. I only have the epilogue left in Game On Baby. I didn’t think it would be difficult to let go of this story, but the reviews and all my readers have made the journey really fun. Some weeks I didn’t think I would get the post out, but somehow I always found my funny and was able to post. When you have a crappy week its hard to be funny. Sometimes I think writing funny is harder than writing angst. I just need to put on a few sappy, sad songs and bam, I can write angst. But when the funny disappears…well, putting on some music doesn’t help all that much.

I started the fanfic journey at the end of December and I’ve learned a lot! Getting immediate feedback for your product is wonderful. Getting any feedback is wonderful. Now I’m ready to get back to my own stories and start that awful query process again. I’m still going to keep writing fanfic but I’ll mainly be focusing on my own stories. I have a writer’s conference in October to get ready for and I need to tighten up a few stories and finish a few others. I’m actually excited and revitalized so I’m anxious to hit my stories again. I suppose next week will be spent learning who my characters are again. It’s been awhile since I’ve hung out with them.

I guess I will be using my blog to keep myself true to my goals. I’m not going to put a exact word count goal per week, but I know it’s going to have to be around 10,000 to 15,000 words per week to reach my goals. That’s not including rewrites and revisions. I’m probably going to allow myself one day off a week where I don’t write at all. Sometimes I need to step away from it, but I can never stay away too long or I get antsy. So, today I’m gong to catch up on things I’ve been neglecting and tomorrow start the regiment of upping the word counts. I may work on the Epilogue for Game on Baby so I can gracefully put that story to bed…Waaahhhhh, Sob, Sniffle….

Leave a Reply

Categories

