Posted by: drizl | August 16, 2010

Dealing with Negative Comments

Over the weekend I finished writing another fanfic, pushing the complete button on Friday and toasting my accomplishment. On Saturday I received one of the most hateful, shitty reviews ever. Basically this person accused me of plagiarizing from some fanfic I’d never heard of before. I suppose I should make it clear, the person was not the author of said fanfic. Anyway, I immediately contacted a few online friends to ask advice because at the moment I wanted to write a scathing reply which I’m sure would have been laced with f-bombs, either that or I wanted to reach through my computer and punch the person in the face…several times…over and over….er, yeah…so I guess my question is how do writers, actors, painters or anyone else in the creative field who routinely opens themselves to critcism – how do they survive f*cking hateful comments. Do you ignore them? Do you respond? This time I chose not to respond because I didn’t see the point. My feeling would be if you don’t like the shit, don’t read it or watch it. No one is forcing you to read the story. I’ve found plenty of stories that I did not like, be it because they were not well written, or the content was not to my liking or the storyline was awful, but at no time did I ever flame these people out…I just quit reading and moved on. I guess I will never understand the need to make a person feel like shit about their work. They had the courage to put it out there. After so many positive reviews you think I could get past the one hateful one. Game On Baby has received over 900 positive comments. I should be proud of that feat. I never wrote it to be a pulitzer prize winning piece of fiction…I mean seriously, it’s a totally goofy crack fic, meant to make people laugh. I know that no matter what you do, you can’t please all the people all the time. I never set out to do that because this fic is raw and nasty and definitely not for everyone. I can see how it could easily offend someone but there are plenty of warnings throughout the entire fic and if ya can’t figure that out after the first ten f-bombs then um, I wouldn’t even know what to say to you…I make no apologies for the way I write. How can I? I’m trying to improve the grammar and the technical bullshit but the way I tell a story is who I am and I’m not going to lose that for anyone. They can f*ck off. Okay, I’m think I’m done ranting…maybe…I’m still a little pissed…but I know things like this are going to happen from time to time…Develop a thick skin…yeah, that’s easy to say until someone blasts something you are really proud of…anyway…I lived through it with the help of some really special online friends…I will never apologize for who I am…I do not steal work from other people…my stories come from my own f*cked up head…Blah…sticking my tongue out and flipping the bird to all the creepy people in the world who find it necessary to flame people out for no particular reason other than they are unhappy f*ckers. And now we shall never speak of this again…well, that’s probably not true, but I’m not going to dwell on it…Je ne regrette rien, says the tattoo and I don’t regret anything to do with my writing! Ooooh, I feel better…so let’s go create so more!

http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5626218/1/

Yeah I’m putting the link on here. I was supposed to split up my blogs and separate the dirty stuff from the not so dirty stuff, but it’s hard to have a split personality. I do have another where I write about my nasty writing, but it’s all still me…so f*ck it…here’s the link the that blog…

http://teeganloy.blogspot.com/

Roll on and don’t let mean people get under you skin…they’ll probably give ya some sort of awful disease…*shudders*

Leave a Reply

Categories

