Posted by: drizl | September 30, 2010

We Respond Only if Interested

Gah, It’s one of those days again where I hate everything I’m writing, have written or will write. I suppose it’s due to the fact that I’m going to a writer’s conference tomorrow and my self confidence just drowned in the bottle of black nail polish I opened. The only way to success though, is to put your work out there for people to see and read and touch and feel. And not everyone is going to like your shizz. Cold hard fact of life. I just wish I could hook up with the people who do like my work. Hello…where the heck are you?

I know I’ve said it before but writing fanfiction has helped in more ways than one. Feedback is almost immediate which in the real publishing industry is unheard of. Oh, so I was reading a rant by an agent on my twitter feed and I almost responded but I don’t think my snark would have been appreciated. Anyway, this agent was going off on how could we, as writer’s, think that agents don’t give a rat’s ass about any of us. Well, are ya ready…I’m gonna go off on the whole manners thing again. IF agents truly cared about writers they would take the extra five minutes to reply to the emails they receive. A simple no would suffice. It doesn’t have to be an elaborate thesis filled with an eight page explanation about why they are turning you down. I mean shit like that would be nice, but I don’t expect it. What I do expect is since I took the time to email you my query letter, my first five pages, my synopsis or whatever else you required of me to do; shouldn’t I at least expect a response. I actually cringe when I see agents who write “We Only Respond if We are Interested”

Okay enough of that shit cuz no matter how much I bitch there are always going to be rude people in the world.

Today I’m going to meditate by staring at pictures of the pretty. Awww, Jackson I love these outtakes.  Oh and feel free to send me some good mojo vibes or more pictures of Jackson or hell, send me Jackson!

Responses

  1. LOL..Drizl…well you know you can’t please all the people all the time, so don’t even try. “To thy ownself be True”…William Shakespeare

    Hey now, I’m one who likes and appreciates your writing…and there are others out there too. I especially liked Game On Baby…it was funny. Comedy is hard to write..what with the jacked up shiz going on all over the world right now…I thank God for someone like YOU who can put a smile on my face and make me laugh, so don’t sell yourself short by any means.

    Courtesy should cut both ways. Agents who can’t even email you back or respond with some respect don’t deserve your respect either. I’m a firm believer in the very easy “Golden Rule”…didn’t we learn about that… like in first grade??? Why should an Agent want respect and to be treated fairly if they haven’t given the same. There is no CLASS in being rude…so to heck with them. You should rise above them and see that if they haven’t been respectful to you, then they don’t deserve your respect back. Agents are only human and they need to remember that as well…they aren’t God. I also believe in that other little thing called Karma…”What comes around, goes around”. Maybe it is high time that Agents, Writers, and really all humans just remember this.

    Now write us something funny, and enjoy your conference!

    Laters Baby,
    Nicole


Leave a Reply

Categories

