Posted by: drizl | November 18, 2010

For SaLe: One Soul…slightly battered

I’m getting ready to send stuff out again to agents and editors. The self doubt is creeping in because I’ve rewritten this one story so many times I don’t even know what’s going on anymore and then it came to me…why is it so easy for me to pump out one chapter a week in my fanfiction? Why does that story call to me, pleading with me to write it? Why do I love it so much? Because it’s me…I’m not sacrificing the story or changing the story because one person didn’t like it. I write the way I write because it’s a part of me. I can’t change that, nor do I want to change it. You might as well not even put your name on your stuff if you’re not proud of how you write.

I’m going to reread the first three chapters of yet another rewrite and figure out if that is how I want the story to be or if I’m going back to the way it was…You have to believe in what you are doing or it isn’t going to work. Maybe I’ve been trying to squish myself into some pre-designed box. I already know how that worked out…not so good baby. It’s time to create my own niche, to write the way I want and to tell MY stories the way I believe they should be told. I’m tired of listening to other people. I will always accept constructive criticism and help from people, but if I don’t believe the changes would help…I’m not changing it anymore.

If things don’t work out, well, at least I’ll know I stuck to what I believed…I’m not selling my soul for success….although somedays…it’s really hard to not cave and put my soul on the clearance rack….

Leave a Reply

Categories

