Posted by: drizl | February 14, 2011

Get Your List Out!

First of all Happy Valentine’s Day…

If that picture isn’t enough to inspire you…there’s something wrong with you!  Just sayin’ 

Okay, let’s get down to business.  I started something yesterday to keep me on the straight and narrow as far as goals are concerned. I’ve always been fascinated with writing lists. I mean any type of list from a grocery list to a list of goals. If I don’t take a list to the grocery store, I come home with shit I don’t need and forget the reason why I went there in the first place. So, I decided to put my love of lists to the test. I needed a few guidelines or I’d just write one long overwhelming list and that wouldn’t work. I picked the number six. There’s no special significance to that number, it was random. I suppose in reality the number is five because writing is always on the list. The word count goal changes daily.

I also have a word or quote of the day, which I write after the goals. Some goals are fun, some suck, others are just meh. I’ll give you an example. Yesterday, my list included going to the movies, which turned out to be a MEH goal. Just Go With It had potential to be a good movie but there was too many stupid, lame things in it. Also on the list was laundry (yuck) and riding the bike (I suppose exercise is a good thing) and writing 2000 words…which I achieved! The word of the day was Believe…

Today was much of the same except I had to include going to the gym and writing 2500 words. Yeah, I’ve surpassed that today! The quote of the day was

Everyone dies….but not everyone really lives ~ adapted from Braveheart

So far, the idea is awesome. I get the shitty stuff done but also, I am reminded that I need to keep writing. I think it helps to see the word count number on paper. I want to reach the goal. And I’m so close to completing this rewrite that I can taste it. God, I wanna finish this rewrite! Not only because it needs to be done, but also because I’m dying to write some new stuff!

I guess the message of this blog is do whatever it takes to inspire yourself to reach for the stars. Your dreams are important and going after them should be a part of everyone’s life. Life is really for living! Go after the things you want and Believe in your Dreams!

Leave a Reply

Categories

