Posted by: drizl | March 8, 2011

To Chasing Dreams….

ARGH….I just pushed send and off went my manuscript to be read by an Editor. I feel weird and sick and light headed and scared and relieved and…well, you get the idea. I’m a little fucked up at the moment. But, I’ve decided I’m not going to sit and wait for word from them, I’m going to query other agents and see if I can get anymore interest in the story. I also want to work on some new original stuff. I’m still writing fanfiction but that’s for the instant gratification. I have more stories floating around in my head and I’m ready to start some new stuff. Jeesh, I’m buzzing right now.  My thoughts are jumbled and I feel like I should go run around the block a few times. Too bad it’s still winter here. Pretty tired of winter!

So, now that I’ve got the manuscript polished and preened to almost perfection (hahahahaha) I need to write a fantastic Query letter. I don’t really like writing them, but I recognize that they are a necessary evil in this business. So is the synopsis and I’m so bad at writing those. And they did this and then this happened and so on and so on and bleh…I never was good at writing book reports. I figure if you can tell a story in 5 pages, what’s the point of expanding it to 325…grumble…just read the manuscript…

OH and this is the last time I’m revising the story…the main character went from nineteen…which apparently is not a good age to be if you are a character in a novel…probably won’t get published because no one knows where to put it…YA or adult…anyway, my main character went from 19 to 17 and you can’t just change the ages and leave the story the same. What a pain in the ass…never, ever will I do that again, but as I’ve said before, it will make a good ‘don’t ever do this shit’ story to tell up and coming writers when I’m lecturing…bwahahahaha…I seem to be dreaming out loud….next…get this…I’m going to send the first three chapters of this story to an agent…but, you guessed it, it’s been rewritten as an adult story…rolls eyes…if that agent asks for a full I may have to pull my hair out, but I’ll make it work. Besides it is sorta funny, in a stupid person sorta way. I swear it will get a roomful of writers to laugh…

Anyway, I think I’m gonna go have a stiff drink and practice breathing normal…

Before I go…let’s do some more dreaming out loud

Leave a Reply

Categories

