Posted by: drizl | April 7, 2011

The Road Most Follow…

Ya know, this was probably the one time in my life that I would be happy with taking the traditional road, but as I continue down this long winding path, it doesn’t seem like it’s going to happen that way. I still have querys out in the cyberspace but my optimism has suddenly hit an all time low. Soon, instead of a tack, I will need a stake for all my Rejection Slips.

The success of Amanda Hocking with Self Publishing makes me think it may soon be time to slip Into the Hourglass into the world of self publishing. I guess if anything it would get me to finish the trilogy. The third book is not complete and the second is in need of a major edit because I changed the first book to a true Young Adult novel. That age stuff still annoys the crap right out of me. It’s like no characters between the ages of 19-22 exist because the publishing world doesn’t know how to categorize the book. Is it adult or young adult? Seriously, if I had a choice, I would rather write about characters who are in that age group because for most of us, it was the time when we first left home. Some of us went off to college in a different city and man, did that open up a whole new can of experiences. I don’t know about you, but my college years were a hell of a lot more interesting than my high school years.

This weekend I’m hitting the road in search of an attitude adjustment. Along with an attitude adjustment, I may also pick up a hangover or two. Yes, I’m flying down south to meet up with my college friends and possibly, okay the possibility is probably 100%, that I will have a drink or two and listen to a band or two and talk about all the stupid things we did when we were younger. I’m also going to soak up some sun and warmth. Winter was long and I’m tired of dirty, gray, cold weather.

And maybe, when I’m away, I’ll find a dandelion to make a wish on…

Oooh, maybe I’ll run into Robert Pattinson or Jackson Rathbone flying somewhere…now that’s a wish worth making…snicker…

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

