Posted by: drizl | May 13, 2011

Fantastic Opening Line…But still NO

Sigh…I kinda feel like I should be snot sobbing right now, but I don’t have it in me. Rejections have become my staple. Nice rejections. Since the rejections have been nice ones, I feel like I’m standing in a long line waiting to get into some exclusive club. I’m not sure if I’m in the fucking right line and I’m probably wearing the wrong clothes. It could be I’m here on the wrong day or it’s the wrong time. No one will answer my questions. I’m probably asking the wrong questions or asking the wrong person. Maybe my shoes are the wrong color Whatever the reason, I can’t seem to break into this exclusive club and it’s driving me mad.

The rejection had words like…I was intrigued by the premise, and you’ve created some interesting back story. 

But then, it said the story reads more like genre than contemporary teen fiction…I’m not sure what that means. There’s a secret language in the publishing world and until you figure it out, you’re on the outside peering in…

And then a bit of advice…if you decide to revise…I think I yanked a chunk of hair out when I read that sentence…The best freaking sentence of the whole email was Especially with your fantastic opening lines in chapter one!

So…now I really wish the answer fairy would swoop down and bring me some answers. I don’t know what to do? I’m frustrated and confused, but I still can’t seem to let that story go…I’ve been working on a few other projects and suddenly, I’ll be thinking about the jumper story. Ugh…

Anyone have suggestions?

Leave a Reply

Categories

