Posted by: drizl | June 30, 2011

ADVICE REQUESTED….ARGH!!!

Holy shite…it’s been a month since my last post and right now I’m totally freaking out…Advice…I need Advice…this world of publishing is going to drive me over the edge. Actually, I think it already did and I’m barely hanging on by my fingernails. Today I was all set on signing up to go to another writer’s conference and in the middle of registering I had to stop. The person I wanted to do a blue pencil with was not listed. As far as I could tell he wasn’t seeing people. He’s just at the conference to teach a few workshops. Now I know you can approach these people and pitch your work to them but I’m absolutely terrible at just walking up to someone and launching into a pitch. Hell, I’m terrible at making small talk with people I don’t know. Holy hell…so now the major dilemma is should I spend large amounts of money to travel and attend this conference? Maybe the money would be better utilized somewhere else, like self publishing. I managed to get two more lovely rejections from agents in the past week. One popped up on Saturday evening at 10pm. The other came yesterday afternoon. I’m pretty sure the first one was a form rejection, but the second one was a bit more personal. Still they were both NOs.

I need the magic formula or whatever. Someone tell me what to do. Giving up and burying my head in the dirt sounds like a good idea at the frecking moment. 

Leave a Reply

Categories

