Posted by: drizl | August 30, 2011

Dear Agents..Please explain

Dear Agents,

I have a question for you. I recently came across an article about the book The Help. The author talked about her search for an agent and the SIXTY, yes 6-0, rejections she received from agents and editors. What does that say about the agents who rejected the book? Could you tell me the reasons you rejected the story? You do realize it’s a movie now right…I’m wondering if you think rejecting the story was a good business decision?

In truth, I’m wondering if you agents are in the business of selling things? Many of the rejections I have received talk about personal taste. I have to say that I have been in many industries where I have sold things or services and I don’t always absolutely LOVE the product. For instance, a few years ago, I sold tickets for a living. Okay, I was a ticket scalper. I didn’t even like all the events I had to deal with. I’m not a race car fan nor do I absolutely love baseball, but I know a lot of people who do love those things. I still sold the tickets because doing so made money for the company.

I guess I don’t understand agents. A good story is a good story. If I were an agent, I would be thinking of the public. I know I can write a good story. I’m sure it’s not perfect. I never claimed to be perfect, but I do know that people like to read my stuff. I’ve been practicing over on fan fiction. I’m getting off track.

When I first got the idea to write a story and sell it, I seriously thought that the publishing industry was in business to sell books. And with all this new technology at their disposal, I thought they would be excited to publish new stories. Apparently I was wrong because first you have to get past the wall of agents and they don’t like letting new people inside.

I guess I’m wondering if you agents keep a list of the books you passed on that are now best sellers. Who were the agents who passed on Harry Potter, because I know there was a few of you. What were your reasons? Were you one of the people who passed up Stephen King? I know he had so many rejections that he staked them to the wall.

Maybe if I knew the answers to these questions, I would better understand agents. Remember you are in a business to make money…

Sincerely,

Me

Leave a Reply

Categories

